Gaston College, supported by the taxpayers of North Carolina, Gaston County and Lincoln County, maintains modest instructional and general fees, which are subject to change by the state of North Carolina and the Board of Trustees of Gaston College.
Please visit the Business Office webpage for payment, refund, collection and transcript policies.
Cost to Attend
Gaston College Tuition* and Fee amounts for the 2022-23 academic year are listed below:
*Tuition rates are subject to change by the North Carolina legislature.
Curriculum Fees - Student Fees
|Campus Access/Security Fee
||$100.00 per semester
|Lab and Clinical Fees
||$6.00 per lab hour - Level 1
$12.00 per lab hour - Level 2
$18.00 per lab hour - Level 3
$24.00 per lab hour - Level 4
|Student Success Fee
||$10.00 per semester
|Graduation Fee/Life Skills
|Student Activity Fee
||$35.00 per term (Fall, Spring, Summer)
|Student Assistance and Accident Insurance Fee - Curriculum
||$4.00 per term
|College Now (Career & College Promise) Fee
||$15.00 per term
|Career Readiness Certificate (CRC)
||$20.00 - $25.00 per test (Pass through fee)
|Official Student Transcript Fee
|Proctored Tests for Non-student Examinees
|TEAS Testing Fee1
||$65.00 (Pass through fee)
|Malpractice Insurance (Health Services/EMS Students)
||$13.00 (Pass through fee)
|Returned Check Fee
|Parking Violation Fine (Paid to Civil Penaly Forfeiture Fund)
||$5.00 (pass through fee)
|Technology Fee (Based on hours enrolled)
||$48.00 per semester
|1098T (Pass through Fee of Penalty from IRS)
||$100.00 (pass through fee)
|BLET - Curriculum
||$30.00 one-time fee
1TEAS (Test of Essential Academic Skills) measures reading comprehension, English skills (such as grammar and punctuation, basic math skills, and science knowledge). It is used as ans admissions test for the RN, LPN-RN, Medical Assisting, and Vet Tech programs.
Right To Change Fees
All College fees are subject to change without notice.
Payments for Tuition and Fees
Payments for tuition and fees are due to the Business Office and must be received by the stated deadline (day and time) on the academic calendar each semester. If you register during late registration, tuition and fee payments are due that day. Failure to pay by the stated deadline may result in your classes being dropped. If you register for late start classes after the last payment deadline, you may not be dropped for nonpayment. It is ultimately your responsibility to drop classes that you do not want to take. Please note that if you are not dropped from a class, you will be responsible for payment and will owe money to the College.
College Now (Career and College Promise):
Students enrolled in High School who are taking College courses (dual enrollment students) pay no tuition for state-funded courses, except for continuing education classes.
Resident Status for Tuition Payments
Students who are not North Carolina residents pay out-of-state tuition for credit (degree) classes. A student’s official residency status is determined at the time they complete the admissions application according to the residency policy of the state of North Carolina, the North Carolina Community College System, and the Gaston College Board of Trustees. In order for a student to be considered a legal resident for tuition purposes, the applicant’s residency must be established and maintained in North Carolina for at least 12 months preceding the date of enrollment. Immigrants lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence may establish North Carolina residence in the same manner as any other non-resident.
All applicants to Gaston College will be required to supply a Residency Certification Number upon application to the College. Applicants can acquire a Residency Certification Number by completing a residency application interview with the Residency Determination Service. An applicant’s residency determination is based on the Residency Determination Service interview and will be used as the student’s residency classification for Gaston College.
The legal residence of a person under 18 years of age is that of his or her parents, surviving parent, or legal guardian. In cases where parents are divorced or legally separated, the minor’s domicile is deemed to be North Carolina for the time period that either parent, as a North Carolina legal resident, claims the minor as a taxable dependent.
A change of address does not automatically entitle a student to pay the same tuition as a North Carolina resident. A request to change one’s residency status should be submitted to the Residency Determination Service. Students must disclose any change in residency to the Office of Admissions. More information on residency requirements may be obtained from the Office of Admissions.
Refund Policy (updated 11/8/19)
A 100% refund of tuition may be given if you officially drop a class prior to the first official day of the term or the day before a short term class (late start) begins. A 75% refund of tuition may be given if you officially drop a class prior to or on the 10% point of the term or the short term (late start) class. The drop deadlines are published on the student academic calendar. No refunds will be given after the 10% date. If a course is cancelled, refunds are automatically processed.
Regardless of when you officially drop/withdraw, you are still responsible for any fees and/or balance remaining on your account.
Economic and Workforce Development
If a student officially drops from a state-supported class or classes before the 10 percent date of the class(es), a 75 percent tuition refund will be given for the class(es) dropped. A 100% refund will be made if the student withdraws from the class prior to the class start date. No refunds will be given after the 10 percent date. If a course fails to materialize, refunds are automatically processed. (The refund policy is subject to change. Refunds of tuition will be issued in accordance with the current state and college policy. Refund checks will be mailed within six weeks of class cancellation or notification of drop from the class.)
Textbook Inclusion Fees
If students drop a course with textbook inclusion fees, full refunds will be given ten calendar days from the start of the class. Students must request a refund of these fees with the Records and Registration Office by calling 704.922.6232. This refund policy excludes Cengage Unlimited as this is a subscription fee not associated with one particular course or textbook.
Students called to active military duty may be allowed special provisions for refunds. Contact the Records and Registration Office at 704-922-6232 or email@example.com for Active Duty Provisions.
Gaston College provides accident insurance coverage for students in case of injury on Gaston College campuses or in a College-related activity.
Student Accident Insurance provides coverage to all registered and enrolled curriculum and continuing education students for covered injuries sustained while the insured student is:
- Participating in activities sponsored and supervised by the school except for play and/or practice of intercollegiate sports;
- Traveling during such activities as a member of a group in transportation furnished or arranged by the school; or
- Traveling directly to or from the insured’s home premises and the site of such activities.
This coverage is secondary coverage and applies only after the claim has been reviewed by the student’s primary insurance provider.
For information concerning coverages, benefits, exclusions and definitions, please refer to the Student Accident Insurance Plan brochure, available in Student Affairs or on the College website under “Student Resources” and “Business Office.”
To file a student accident insurance claim, the student must do the following:
- Obtain a copy of the Incident Report from the Campus Police Department as soon as reasonably possible.
- Complete the Student Claim Form in its entirety. The claim form is available from the Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Finance, Operations and Facilities (Beam Administration Building Room 115, telephone 704.922.6406).
- The student should make a copy of the Accident Report and Claim form for their records.
- Return both forms to the Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Finance, Operations and Facilities for the claim to be submitted.
- The student is responsible for submitting all medical bills to the insurance carrier. Information for the carrier is provided on the claim form.
These are time sensitive documents. Please verify the forms are complete and accurate prior to submitting.